Stripe pre-authorization

What is a pre-authorization?

A pre-authorization is a temporary hold of a specific chosen amount that is provided upon booking.
So it will temporarily reduce the customers credit card limit. Hotels reserve the right to pre-authorize provided credit cards up to the full reservation amount at the point of reservation to check the validity.   

The pre-authorized amount will be released typically after 7 days.

But be aware: it is NOT a transaction charge and will not be reflected in the customers credit card statement.  

 

How to do and release a pre-authorization in ManCloud with Stripe?

  1. Go down to the 'administration' part of the booking

  2. Go to the overview of the added credit cards in the section 'credit cards'

  3. Click on the 'v' sign to pre-authorize the credit card  

  4. Check the 'pre-authorization' box (if not ticked already)



  5. Fill in the amount you want to pre-authorize



  6. Choose the credit card



  7. Save
  8. If performed correctly the amount pre-authorized will be shown in the same way a payment is shown, but in light grey with a 'V' sign to mark the amount as pre-authorization.

 

How to release a pre-authorization?

  1. If you want to have more information about this pre-authorization: click on the 'open stripe dashboard' button



  2. Go to payments (menu on the left)



  3. You can filter payments and pre-authorizations:
    1. Click on 'filter' button 
    2. Choose the 'captured' option 
    3. Click on 'has not been captured'
    4. Click on done
  4. This way you get an overview of all the pre-authorizations performed: Click on the pre-authorization that you want to manage



  5. If you want to release the money:

    • Click on the 3 little dots on the right of the payment: "refund charge" and click on the 'release' button



    • Click on 'Refund charge' to release the pre-authorization



  6. Choose the reason why you want to release the pre-authorization and click on the 'Release' button



  7. Now you see that the status of the payment is changed to 'released'

In the same way you can also refund a payment via the Stripe dashboard.

 

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Powered by Zendesk